Getting Involved on Campus

There’s more to the college experience than the classroom. College campuses offer endless opportunities to get involved , however, the responsibility is on the student to seek them out.  Take a look at the different type of activities Beyond 12’s College Coaches used to be a part of while attending college!

“I was always very involved on campus. I was apart of the Indian Student Organization for four years and also apart of the Culturally Focused Clubs Council. As an executive board member for each club I spent a lot of time planning meetings, events, and community outreach, which didn’t leave much time for other clubs. But looking back, I wish I would make time to join the student government on campus!”–Lara

“In college, I was part of several clubs including InterVarsity, Xi Delta, and the Vietnamese Student Association. I had a lot of fun being in all of these student organizations and really enjoyed the friends I had the opportunity to meet by being an active member of each. My best and most memorable experiences, however, were the summers when I helped out at orientation for international students.I was able to meet so many great students from all different walks of life – and the best parts were learning more about their home countries and being able to introduce to them the beautiful University of Georgia campus! Reflecting back on my college years, I do wish I had been more involved on campus. There were so many clubs I was interested in that I didn’t get a chance to join. ” –Nam

“While I was in college, I was a part of a few organizations on campus. I joined Rising Immigrant Scholars through Education (R.I.S.E) my freshman year, because it became a great support group that helped me navigate college. Becoming a member of this club introduced me to my first family away from home. Through my participation in the organization, I got to learn more about politics pertaining to undocumented students and it was a great way to meet people on campus including the Chancellor of the University. In my 3rd year, I joined an organization that allowed me to learn more about the field of education and develop my leadership skills. I became the coordinator of the organizations during my senior year, and was able to work with the freshmen class. Overall, I wish I would’ve joined more organizations on campus but I’m satisfied with the work I was able to do and my participation in activities that complemented this work.”  –Katherine

“During my first year of college I was working two part-time jobs while going to school full-time, and I didn’t take the time or interest in learning about different clubs and organizations. Looking back I wish I had pushed myself to learn the location of all the student resources that my university had to offer during my first semester of freshman year.Once I became a sophomore in college I attended an on campus activates fair where I was able to mingle and meet new people. As a result, I became aware of many different leadership opportunities on campus. During my college career I was able to be a part of the following: Orientation Team, Ambassador Program, Student Spirituality Center, Latinos Unidos Club, Bonner Program, and NDNU’s Student Body Association. I enjoyed being involved and becoming a leader on campus which lead me to minor in Leadership and Public Service!”–Cinthya

 

Leave a comment